Skip to content

That Is SO Like You, Deb…

June 8, 2009

So I got this blog going, and after only 72 hours of weeping and gnashing of teeth, have it in a place that is OK for the time being.  I can post, and because I’m a big girl now, can even add a picture if I so choose.  Really can’t ask more than that, can I?  Eventually, it would be nice to move it to a place where I can customize it more, but until I finish the “WordPress For Dummies” book I bought — not kidding, how pathetic am I? — it is what it is.

Aiming the credit where it should rightly go, I would like to thank Angela Olson Halsted of the L. A. Times Crossword Confidential puzzle blog for her patience and help in getting started, including but not limited to the large, sweeping arm gestures and other audio-visual aids I needed in order to understand that my words needed to actually be posted to the Internet, and not just yelled at the monitor screen.  Angela is a gem and a good teacher.

But I realized that in my rush to get started, I forgot to introduce myself.  How rude of me.  My name is Deb Amlen, and I am a humor writer and crossword puzzle constructor (yep, that’s what they call us).  You won’t see much puzzle content here;  if you are interested in my political crankiness within the confines of a 15×15 grid, check out my bi-monthly puzzles in the satirical newspaper The Onion.  If you are into feminist-punk-craft-pop culture goodness, you can find me in BUST Magazine as the “X Games” columnist.   And yes, all rumors to the contrary, I CAN write puzzles for the mainstream media.  Click on the button up top labeled “Huh?” to find out where I’ve been.

In June or July of 2010, my first non-puzzle-related book will be coming out.  “It’s Not PMS, It’s You” (Sterling) is a humorous look at male-female relationships and for the first time ever, reveals some of the fascinating biological reasons behind why men act they way they do.

Welcome to my humor blog.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2009 10:28 PM

    Loving your blog!

  2. puzzlegirl65 permalink*
    June 8, 2009 10:42 PM

    Thanks for the shout-out, Deb. I sincerely hope it doesn’t prompt anyone else to call me for help with getting a blog started. 🙂

    • Deb permalink*
      June 9, 2009 8:00 AM

      Oh no, I hope you’re not telling me that I ruined it for you! 😀

Leave a Reply

